The Governing Body of George Stephenson High School is made up of 2 staff governors (including the Headteacher), 5 elected Parent Governors, 2 Trust Governors, 1 Local Authority Governor and 7 Co-opted governors. Co-opted governors are appointed by the Governing Body and are people who, in the opinion of the governing body, have the skills required to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school. The term of office for our Governors is four years.

The full Governing Body is chaired by Andrew Elliott and meets once per term, and we also have a number of sub-committees to consider different aspects of the school in detail. The full governing body has delegated authority to each sub-committee to plan and make decisions in line with their subject scope.  Both the subject scope and any decisions are ratified at the full governing body. The sub-committees that meet termly are Personnel (chaired by Andrew Elliott), Curriculum (chaired by Caroline Dixon), Finance, Buildings and Health and Safety (chaired by Ian Cook).
In accordance with the Government's requirement for all governing bodies, the Governing Body of George Stephenson High School has a strong focus on its three core strategic functions:

1.    Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;

2.    Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils;

3.    Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

The Governing Body of George Stephenson High School, like the whole school has worked over the last year on defining its role and responsibilities. We believe our role is to advise, support and challenge the school in order to deliver outstanding education. We will do this by:-
1.    Contributing to a structured involvement in school Governance

2.    Listening, challenging and feeding back across all aspects of school life

3.    Keeping informed on local and national education issues and using and improving our skillset and strengths to support continuous school improvement.

4.    Being accountable to each other and to our Parents, Community, the Local Authority, Students and School for our actions.

5.    At all times being a critical friend. 

Contact Details

Please direct all correspondence for the attention of our Governing Body to:

Mrs S Fitton, Clerk to the Governing Body George Stephenson High School Southgate Killingworth Newcastle upon Tyne NE12 6SA

Alternatively, correspondence may be sent directly to the Chair of Governors, at the above address.

Please see below for a full list of Governors, their relevant business and pecuniary interests, their attendance record and other relevant documents.

List of Governors


Dr Chris Barclay

Co-opted Governor

Mr Ian Cook

Co-opted Governor

Mrs Caroline Dixon

Co-opted Governor

Mr Andrew Elliott

Co-opted Governor

Mrs Mandy Marsh

Co-opted Governor

Mrs Sharon Thompson

Co-opted Governor

Mrs Linda Mason

Local Authority Governor

Mrs Kimberley Flynn

Parent Governor

Mrs Angela Henderson

Parent Governor

Ms Joanne Sharp

Parent Governor

Mrs Helen Tovey

Parent Governor

Dr Ruth Valentine

Parent Governor

Miss Kelly Bailey

Staff Governor

Mr Stewart Foster

Foundation Governor

Mrs Katrina Moffat

Foundation Governor

Mr Ian Wilkinson


Documents available for download 

Annual Governance Statement Statement 2018-2019
Governing Body Code of Conduct
Curriculum Committee Terms of Reference
Finance, Buildings and Health and Safety Committee Terms of Reference
Personnel Committee Terms of Reference
Post-16 Committee Terms of Reference
Governors' Attendance 2017/18